inner banner
Indian Maritime University (IMU), Common Entrance Test for UG & PG Programmes- 2018 , Chennai
About Us:

The Indian Maritime University (IMU) was established on 14th November 2008 as a teaching and affiliating university under the Ministry of Shipping, Government of India, with Chennai as headquarters. It was set up to promote maritime studies, training, research and extension with focus on emerging areas like oceanography, maritime history, maritime laws, maritime security, search and rescue, transportation of dangerous cargo, environmental studies and other related fields, and to achieve excellence in these areas. There were 6 renowned legacy teaching-cum-research institutes under the Ministry of Shipping, and these were subsumed under the Indian Maritime University in November 2008. The 3 institutes in Mumbai, namely, the Training Ship Chanakya, the Lal Bahadur Shastri College of Advanced Maritime Studies & Research, and the Marine Engineering Research Institute became the Mumbai campus of the Indian Maritime University. The 2 institutes in Kolkata, namely, the Marine Engineering Research Institute and the Indian Institute of Port Management became the Kolkata campus of the University. The National Ship Design and Research Centre in Visakhapatnam and the National Maritime Academy in Chennai became the Visakhapatnam and Chennai campuses respectively of the University. Post-November 2008, 3 new Campuses were set up - in Kochi in 2009, Kandla in 2011 and Karaikal in 2014. The University also has 36 Affiliated Institutes.

Common Entrance Tests for Admissions All admissions to the various UG and PG programmes of the IMU and its Affiliated Institutes will be through All-India Common Entrance Tests (CETs) conducted every year, usually in the month of June. There will be a CET common to all UG programmes. There will be a CET common to the 2 MBA programmes; another CET common to the 2 M.Tech programmes; and yet another CET for the LLM (Maritime Laws) programme. The results of the CETs are valid for the particular Academic Year only.

Course Offered




  • Ship Building & Repair
  • Maritime Science
  • Nautical Science

Diploma in Nautical Science leading to B.Sc. (Nautical Science)


  • Marine Engineering
  • Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering




  • Port and Shipping Management
  • International Transportation and Logistics Management


  • Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering
  • Dredging and Harbour Engineering

LLM (Maritime Laws)



Ph.D. (Non-residential)



For B.Sc:

  • Ship Building & Repair: 10+2/equivalent (PCM- 50% & English- 50%)
  • Maritime Science: 10+2/equivalent (PCM-60% & English- 50%)
  • Nautical Science: 10+2/equivalent (PCM-60% & English- 50%)

For DNS leading to B.Sc. (Nautical Science): 10+2/equivalent (PCM-60% & English- 50%)

For B.Tech:

  • Marine Engineering: 10+2/equivalent (PCM-60% & English- 50%)
  • Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering: 10+2/equivalent (PCM - 60% & English- 50%)


  • (Port and Shipping Management/ International Transportation and Logistics Management): A bachelor’s degree in any discipline with 50% marks from recognized universities (45% marks in case of SC/ST)


  • Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering: Graduate Engineering in Mechanical/Civil/Aeronautical /Marine/Naval Architecture or equivalent with 60% aggregate
  • Dredging and Harbour Engineering: Graduate Engineering in Mechanical/Civil/Aeronautical/ Marine/ Naval Architecture or equivalent with 60% aggregate.

For LLM: (Maritime Laws): A bachelor’s degree in Law from any recognized University approved by UGC with minimum 50% marks (45% marks in case of SC/ST)


For Ph.D (Non-residential): Post graduate degree in Marine Engineering/Naval Architecture.


Important Dates:


Last date for Online Registration: 11th May 2018

Date of Computer-Based CETs: 2nd June 2018(11am-2pm)


For More Admission Related Queries,

Contact Us:
Mobile:   9643733688